some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

An awkward pause, then what's my line?

November 13, 2004
So far this weekend has been so bad, that in looking towards Monday as my day off from part-time work, I am planning a Suburban Island Day. I call it that because Kipp and I are enraged with jealousy because of the neat things she does ROUTINELY with her family. A Suburban Island day goes like this: You go to Barnes & Noble, get a Starbucks and a magazine, you must not read the magazine as you are a busy cosmopolitan and have no time, then you go and pick up Chinese take out (in real Chinese take out boxes, made by Koreans), you stop at Blockbuster and rent a DVD and then enjoy this all with your family. I have no family, I have a garden gnome named Gnorman. The �g� is silent.

At my part time job today I relearned an important lesson that I hold as a dear fact. The bigotry that says that some people can learn, and some cannot because they are not white or there are poor is not soft bigotry of low expectations but a very hard, cold bigotry.

I became slowly enraged as this person, renown for the laziness, kept calling me stupid today. I hate being called stupid; I have a brain the size of a planet. I also cannot stand being called stupid by someone, who frankly, is stupid themselves. It took the voice of Suburban Island reminding me, �being cruel back to people does not erase their cruelty or really make us feel better.�

This person cannot read. Before you comment your sob-story about someone you knew once who could not read, bear in mind that I am a Special Education teacher. We teach blind people to read. We teach profoundly retarded people to read. Anyone can be taught to read. You need two things to do this: parents who value literacy and the ambition to succeed.

It will take time. It will be hard. You can do it. Anyone can do it. I believe that as firmly as I believe in anything.

There are two types of people in life: people who make stupid generalizations like that one and those who do not. No, that is not it. Oh, �There are two types of people in life � those who have ambition and those who do not.�

I am currently engaged in earning a free iPod photo. This is really simple. Go to this link http://www.freephotoiPods.com/?r=11854505 and sign up to earn your own and one of the excellent services they provide. Most are free for two weeks and after you have done this for two weeks, I get an iPod. Golf Widow suggests using INFONE as your service you select as it is free as long as you never, never use it. How hard could this be? Click away!

9:49 PM :: 4 comments so far ::
prev :: next