some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

no good deed goes unpunished

November 10, 2004
Question: What did you do today?
Answer: A lot of �stuff�, none of it was my �job�
What I learned: I am still not the august Suburban Island & no good deed goes unpunished.

Today was Martin Luther�s birthday, and also a day when my students went to church, music and gym, had two tests leaving me one hour where I could teach them. I decided that we should �celebrate� Martin Luther�s birth by watching a movie that was loosely tied to what we were �learning,� eat cupcakes, and drink �juice.� Why do they call it juice? They should call it, �Water, fortified with sugar and red dye, one-percent fruit �flavoring.��

We have been reading about how special effects are made in movies and so we watched the film about how George Lucas made Star Wars. He looks like a werewolf. I also learned that you can not watch a movie with space aliens and children without someone pointing out, �That one looks like Johnny!� or �Look, Johnny, it�s your Mom!� Poor Johnny, he always involved in something horrible.

Today is the day I brought the cheesecake to share. It was a success, a surprise to even myself. Who knew I could do something like that? The Music Teacher, the mother of all bitch monkeys, certainly did not think so and asked one of the oldsters who hang around the church and school to have lunch with the teachers, in German, if the cake was at terrible as it looked.

This is what the cake looked like before we cut it up:



This is where I grew up:



Kaiserslautern, Germany.

I looked at her and said, �Bitch, I speak German.� I know my cake was good. First, I am not a moron. I have cooked bad things and good things. I tasted it, I knew it was not terrible. Second, the first grade teacher and I have a cold professional relationship and she would tell me it was terrible; she would not have said it tasted good if it did not taste good. Third, I got the recipe from Marna and we all know that Marna has good taste.

You can check out the recipe here yourself, Pumpkin Cheesecake with Caramel Swirl .

This proves: no good deed goes unpunished.

Thank you to Tessa for pointing out that I am a terrible speller.

5:27 PM :: 5 comments so far ::
prev :: next