some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

and not a moment too soon

November 05, 2004
Question: Will I make it home for Thanksgiving, or be doomed to spend another year alone?

What I learned: This isn�t the illustrious Suburban Island, I should find my own gimmick.

I spent three hours trying to find an affordable ticket to go home for Thanksgiving. It really just says a great deal more about my attention span than the web pages I was looking at for tickets. I should not have waited this long but something happened in one of my friends� life for better and they have a better job now but are not in a position to take time off and travel around America.

So, I went online to find out how to get home. Could I do it for less than three hundred dollars, this close to the actual holiday? I could. However, I have to leave a day later and come back a day earlier than I would like. My mother and sister work retail and will be busy the day after Thanksgiving and so will my father since his office does not close the day after Thanksgiving. I will be going into work with my mother and sister, I want to spend time with the family where I can.

Purchasing tickets online is a bear. You cannot buy something online at a good, secure site without first registering on the site. This takes a great deal of time that I really did not have. My parents live at the back of beyond and I live close enough to New York that my local airport has grievously limited options since a serious traveler would go to the Big Apple for their airport needs. I was afraid that while I was tinkering around on the internet that I would loose out on a great deal.

Then you have to wrestle the times you leave and the times you return to work within a framework of a person who does not get personal days. If you went back to change your days to see if you could get a better deal, or home at all, you would have to input all of your information again. Then, if you did it wrong, as I did, you would get great deals and then realize that it was for next year or you would come back about the same time Hillary Clinton was being sworn in as President.

Eventually, I won. I get into town that day, and leave the Saturday after, with less than forty-eight hours on the ground my sister and I will not have time to not get along. I will be on a plane before my novelty wears off. I am going home and not a moment too soon.



9:02 PM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next