some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

it's a drag

October 31, 2004
Today, being Halloween was a day that I volunteered to work at my part time job. I live in a commercial building so there would be no trick-or-treating at my door and I had nothing I wanted to do.

People came in to second job in their costumes, people eating there. I have to admire some people�s clever ideas and look down on people who buy their stuff. I thought part of the fun of Halloween was supposed to be making up a costume.

I also am confused by the humor that teenage guys find in dressing as girls. I never did this when I was a teenager and you do not see girls dressing up as boys for Halloween.

Tonight was like an amateur drag show, possibly the most hideous thing I have ever seen. Some men can dress as women and be very convincing or clever. These boys did not have what it took. The best part was pointed out by one of my coworkers who noted that they shaved the fronts but not the backs of their legs. I think that if a real Drag Queen had arrived on the scene there would have been much slapping, snapping and shouting of, �bitch!�

Being a drag queen is an art that until tonight I had no appreciation for, I am ashamed at my lack of culture and refinement.

I would also like to take a moment to recognize my coworker, Indira. She has worked for the company for seven years, remains to this day ignorant of her duties, incompetent in discharging them and unable to find her way out of a wet paper bag. She is a nice person but more in the way than she is helpful.

10:01 PM :: 1 comments so far ::
prev :: next