some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

The other P? It stands for "property."

October 31, 2004
This is my complaining about work.

I am a teacher, and the best way to explain my status is to say that I am a member of a religious order, I teach at one of my denomination�s schools.

I normally enjoy church; today is an important day in our church year � Reformation Day and I had high hopes for our service. Normally, the congregation I worship with (also, the one I work for) is boring. The pastor�s homilies are not engaging, the organist must be tone deaf, the worship style is antiquated, and the people are not terribly welcoming. I make it my policy to try to overlook things I find to be short comings and focus on why I go to church � to worship my God, receive forgiveness, and hear something inspiring to carry me through the week.

Today the Pastor decided to chastise the staff of the school, particularly the principal, in his homily. His point was that a willing, joyful servant would not: feel they were paid poorly, did not have enough time, or were unappreciated in general. He said this, and that feeling �burnt out� was evidence of the lack of Christian faith in someone who claimed to be serving the Lord.

During church, in my mind I listed people from the Bible who have felt that they were unappreciated and burnt out, Jesus comes to the front of my mind. There are several examples of Jesus needing time off during his earthly ministry. There are examples from the Old Testament of other people who have served the Lord having the same frustrations we have had as well. However, Jesus is our perfect example, if he felt burnt out then so can I.

Money is not an issue that I have a problem with from the church, I am compensated well, and I do not feel the crunch of time. I am single and do not have kids, I am also cloistered on the grounds. The other teachers have families and I think that a Pastor who makes more than combined teaching staff (four teachers, one aide) has some nerve tell us not to worry about money. We asked for a cost of living adjustment, not a raise. Without a cost of living adjustment, we are really taking a cut in pay. Without this cost of living adjustment I suggested a cut in pay of $50 a month so we would dip under the poverty line, disappear from the tax rolls and become eligible for food stamps and other forms of public assistance.

I do not have a problem being chastised when I deserve it. However, the Pastor is irritated at the teachers because this year he has begun meddling in the affairs of the school, wanting to change things. Now, on first glance we would agree with you that his involvement is appreciated. Change is also something that should always be open for discussion and debate, however there is another side to the coin.

First, he shows no interest in improving the church. That is his job. If he were doing both, perhaps we would feel differently.

Second, the things he wants to change are not what should be fixed at our school. He wanted to change the shape of the tables in our lunchroom and eventually bullied a nine hundred dollar expenditure getting us tables that we do not want and do not fit in our lunchroom. When he did not get our support on this issue, he complained to the school and church board that we were uncooperative. This has happened with every change he has wanted to make in the school. Nothing substantive is being done; everything boils down to changing the color, shape, or size of something when that is not what needs to be fixed.

We need new curriculum, an updated library, computers; environmental control system that works in hot and cold weather and we need new windows. In the mean time, we are wasting what little money we have on things that no one wants because everyone is afraid of, yet again, being labeled as uncooperative and negative.

This man (and his wife) is the pinnacle of childishness. I am at the end of my rope.

I know this does not make sense to anyone, even to me but I had to get it out.

9:57 PM :: 3 comments so far ::
prev :: next