some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

bring out your dead (part two)

October 29, 2004
My polling station is a block away from school. I am going on my break or as soon as school lets out to go vote, but I got the crazy idea that I should bring my class (all eleven of them) when I go to vote so they could see the process. Then I realized that they would be standing in line in a place where the children would not be able to share their views on current events, the election and for whom they would cast a vote.

I am still in shock that my coworker did not know there was an election or who was running. I pretend to clean the counter and read the paper, she must be pretending to read the paper while she cleans the counter. I have a hard time believing this myself, I always thought that this statistic was made up.

I can understand not knowing who the Speaker of the House of Representatives is (Dennis Hastert, Yorkville, Illinois) or who the President Pro Tempore is (Senator Ted Stevens, Alaska) but ignorance of the major party Presidential Candidates? Can we be serious?

Today at recess second grade decided to invent opposite tag, wherein the children chase the child who is �it� instead of the other way around. When you catch, �it� you are then �it� and the object of all chasing. Well, the boy generally assumed by my students to be one of my illegitimate children, Emmanuel was �it� but had no idea that they were playing a game so all the children in first, second, third and fourth grade are chasing him around, he�s frightened because he does not have a clue as to what is going on and so he jumps up on me like little kids do for hugs but climbs up on my shoulders, stands there and holds onto my hair, screaming in his panic.

It would have been funny on someone else�s head.

It is time for work. I will be clever later.

3:23 PM :: 4 comments so far ::
prev :: next