some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

Well, uh, how do you think the pigs feel about that? Huh?

October 27, 2004
Today the person giving the lesson during Chapel used sexist language, meaning that he told a story from the Bible and referred to a person as, �the man in the story.� He was quickly shouted down by the first grade girls who were appalled to hear him not use gender balance and equality in his story.

The story was not his, of course, but one he found in the Bible to express an idea to the children � that of compassion, helping others and thinking outside your box. The story he used referred to three men who were traveling along a road and perhaps he could have changed it, perhaps he should not have. I was just impressed that the first grade picked-up on and called him out for it.

They did not call it sexist language but they knew it when they heard it.

Sexist language is something I am still working with. There are things that I do that are offensive to others that I do knowing they are offensive without caring. Sexist language falls into another category of offensiveness where I am not doing it on purpose and have yet to have the habit beaten out of me. Sexist language is not universally offensive like nose picking and wedge grabbing, it does not offend me so it will take a while to beat it out of my system.

I guess I was just profoundly impressed by someone so young picking up on something that I trip on too often.

2:59 PM :: 4 comments so far ::
prev :: next