some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

I have not had a real job since I became an adult either, I'm a teacher like Laura Bush.

October 21, 2004
Thank you for your support and kind words over the past days. I appreciate it, a great deal.

Today I got my haircut in preparation for the weekend of mourning. I like my haircut and I almost never do. Of all the aspects of a person�s appearance, hair should be the easiest to control. If looking good is impossible, I at least want to be presentable.

I walked into the establishment where I get my haircut and there is discussion over who will take me, which I found odd but I figured out that there some sort of disagreement between the people who work there.

The woman who was cutting my hair was extremely agitated and that made me incredibly nervous. I need people with sharp objects near my head to be paying attention, in the zone. However, her coworkers caused her to be increasing irritated.

I figured things out when she asked me if I liked the music on the radio and the way she phrased it I thought she asked if liked the song and I said that I did not and it was a bit loud. I do not like Usher or Alicia Keys or the song they perform together and it was loud. She shouted, in my ear, that I had complained about the music and would they please change the station.

They changed the station to easy listening. Before this happened I was afraid that she would cut off my ear and then after they changed it to Celine Dion I was hoping that she would. I confess to not being a fan of R & B but I am less of a fan of Elton, Madonna, and Celine.

The person who was cutting my hair, cuts my hair only cuts it half the time, the other half of the time another woman cuts my hair. It breaks down like this: the angry woman who scares me also makes me look good. The attractive, young woman who cuts my hair the other half of the time makes me look decent but that is about it. They also do not get along and fought the whole time.

When I left the attractive woman, who knows she is attractive, asked if I really did not like the music and I said that I did not like the song, or the music in general but I had not complained about it. The woman asked why I had not said anything about her complaining instead of letting it seem like I had the problem, I told her that you have to choose your battles in life and while I am contending with an unstable woman with razors near my neck I make a point of being amicable.

I, of course, have a lot of my mind and I am sorry if that made no sense to you right now.

In other news�

Theresa Heinz Kerry�s words speak to her attitude more than anything else. This must be filed with Senator Lott talking about Strom Thurmond being the President of the United States and other faux pas. I wonder why Liberals are not annoyed at Senator Rodham Clintons� remark about Indians or Senator Robert Byrd using the word nigger on the Senate floor in 2002.

Being a stay at home mom is a great deal of work, a whole lot. These slips show what people really think and feel; they show what is in their heart. Theresa Heinz Kerry has no way of being in touch with the common person; she has never been one. Laura Bush has been a regular person, an admirable person who has contributed to society her whole life. They talk about Theresa Heinz Kerry being a philanthropist but I do not think you should get to call yourself a philanthropist until you have earned your own money and then are spending your money on other people. Give me three billion dollars and I will be as philanthropic as she is, maybe more.

As a teacher, I consider the shit pay the world gives us to be more philanthropy than Theresa Heinz Kerry could ever muster. I consider one year of teaching to be more valuable a contribution than six years in the Senate by John Edwards, a year of teaching in the urban areas of America more of a contribution than joining a reserve naval unit during the Viet Nam era, having my unit called up and getting three superfluous wounds and not staying even half a year before going home. George W. Bush was not stellar in the Air National Guard but at least he does not act like he volunteered to go to war like Kerry pretends to.

Even if Senator John McCain were running against Senator Kerry, I would not add Viet Nam into the equation. Lets balance my contribution to society against Senator Kerry�s contribution. If you do not like me, pick another teacher; any teacher. Any teacher who shows up every day for their job, to be under paid and unappreciated contributes more than a self promoting Senator who has twenty years in the Senate and nothing to show for it.

Then his wife denigrates stay at home mothers � maybe, but teachers by saying that Laura Bush has not had a real job since becoming an adult. Screw you, woman. Screw your husband too. How anyone thinks John Kerry or his wife are decent human beings above people who work, hold jobs and have contributed to society is beyond me.

There are many stellar Democrats who were running this year with records to stand behind, Governor Howard Dean or Senator Joe Lieberman would have made excellent Presidents. I do not hate liberals, or Democrats; I not even hate Kerry. I do dislike being patronized and insulted by the left who for the past four years has done nothing in the Congress and nothing in the Senate.

I ended a sentence in a preposition; bite me.

Kerry defended America as a young man in Viet Nam and even if his going was a fluke it was admirable he stayed until he found a way to go home but I refuse to believe that Kerry is going to stand up and fight as President after sitting around the Senate for twenty years waiting for something to happen.

Laura Bush said no apology was needed and she has more class than I do. I am insulted that teaching is not considered a real job by someone who sits on a charitable board spending someone else�s money. Some. Nerve.

11:01 PM :: 6 comments so far ::
prev :: next