some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

tricksy hobbit

October 19, 2004
Last night I did some thing people my age are allowed to do, but aught not do. I did not intend to get intoxicated, it just happened while watching the Yankees play the Red Sox and dealing with aforementioned family issues.

However, during this time and because I was intoxicated Owen decided to come out of the closet. He may not have come out of the closet but I will never know. Owen is a tricksy hobbit, a nasty tricksy hobbit who plays tricks on us. He likes to wrap my brain around an idea and then yank the idea away, leaving me spinning like a top. I do not care if he is gay or not but his ability to befuddle me is excellent and leaves me with nothing for the tricksy hobbit.

The only problem is that if Owen is gay he has not come out to his parents or friends, which in my experience with other friends means he is probably behaving very dangerously. Everyone I know that has come out to themselves but not to their parents is promiscuous, extremely promiscuous. That leaves me worried that my friend could be hurting himself physically and emotionally having all kinds of �meaningless sex�. Then, all the diseases he could have contracted run thought my mind as well what a couple of bigots would do if they got their hands on him (living in Kentucky made the scenario a part of everyday life for everyone not on the straight and narrow minded).

I know that all of things happen to heterosexuals as well and my heterosexual friends would put themselves at the same risk if their partners were will, quite often women are a lot more level headed than boys are about sex.

I also think that keeping things like that pent up and secret make them harder to deal with. Well, I know that from research and education but what I do not know, but would venture the guess that since heterosexual teens CAN talk to their parents and friends about their sex lives (not that they necessarily DO talk to them) makes things less emotionally stressful because you do not HAVE to keep things secret, you can tell your parents you are dating someone of the opposite sex, but even people with open minded parents have trouble telling their parents they are gay.

Then again, Owen knows a couple important facts about me: I am gullible and I care. He knows that I would buy any bridge in Brooklyn that he tried to sell me and he also knows that I care about humanity in general a great deal and my friends very much so. As often as he pulls my chain and leads me around by the nose he has always been very nice to me and has stayed firmly on the �prank� side of the line, never crossing over onto the �asshole� side of joking around with people.

I do not have a problem with him being gay � I had gay friends and family members long before it was cool and I will still have them after it goes out of vogue. I am just worried that while he is figuring out the ropes of things that he might get hurt.

Also, since he IS a tricksy hobbit it entirely possible that he was pulling my leg, if he has I would have so much more respect for him than I did when he started talking to me last night. Honestly, his ability to pull things like this off leaves me in awe. He is always playing a trick on someone. He�s just that cool.

2:56 PM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next