some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

Help me! I am stuck in Colin Farrell�s eyebrows!

October 14, 2004
I cannot wait for this election to be over because I am tired of the political advertisements. I have no idea to vote for in my congressional district because of their negative advertisements. I have a firm belief that if you are going to open up a can of snark on someone you should be clever, not scary.

I am most bothered by an ad that morphs the face of the candidate with the face of the President, whom I respect and realize will be replaced by Senator Kerry, but he is not attractive and morphing someone into and out of him is just not right. The same is done with Senator Kennedy and someone else as well.

Then, when those ads are not on I am hearing how Bill O�Reilly forced someone to have phone sex with him. I understand that a boss can force a subordinate to do a great deal but I think you are always empowered to hang up the phone. I would like to find out what the deal is and then the ad for the new West Wing comes on and I get distracted and I remember that I do not care about Bill O�Reilly or his counter part, Michael Moore. They are really the same person (there is room in Mr. Moore�s clothing for two people � even two people that loud)

In other news, not related to the fact that I am tired of politics:

The parents that annoy me the most came into the classroom to remind me that even annoying parents love their children. I forget sometimes that just because a parent does not always do what is right for their son or daughter still loves them and WANTS what is best for them. They gave a quick party for their son and the class on his birthday. It was cute and I, for one, am surprised that allowed it in my class. I try to cram it all into the day and the idea of something taking away from my instructional time can cause me to be quite irate.

The problem this week has been that other adults only come by my classroom when I am giving a spell test or in the middle of my sentence. It irritates me to no real end. There are many times during the day when I am perfectly interruptible and those are not the times people want to see me.

Today in religion, we rocked it. We are discussing how sin came into the world and that of course has to do with Adam and Eve. I brought the children pomegranates so that they could taste what Biblical Scholars thing the forbidden fruit in the Garden of Eden was.

Pomegranates are great for this lesson because like sin, they are fun while they last but they leave an awful mess that is hard, but not impossible to clean. Sin can only be cleaned by Christ but the metaphor is great. The children are well primed for this and I think they will understand this unit perfectly. I also hope the janitor king does not take off my head for ruining the new floor because eleven children times any amount of pomegranates equals a ruined new floor.

Someone complained about the name of my page here because it misled the individual into jumping to rude conclusions. I tried to respond politely, I am sure I failed and I am positive that they could have cared less about my response. This is my response, for your edification:

�Blasphemous Conceits� refers to the fact that my pride in my writing, as pride is blasphemous and blue-eyed devil is a cultural reference that you are missing � it refers to white people. I am not claiming that my writing is a blasphemy in progress as much as it is something that I take pride in while I happen to also be Caucasian in appearance. Disconnected people (meaning this was no a collaborative effort) have called me a blue-eyed devil all my life. Like all boys, I was mischievous and clever when I was younger and I have always had blue eyes, thus the name seems appropriate.

Your concern for my soul is appreciated but unfounded. Reading one entry in a person�s diary and then passing judgment is at the same time rude and uncalled for. Had you read the other seventeen hundred entries then perhaps I could accept your judgment. However, you read one (maybe two or three) entries and passed judgment. I hope you do not do that in real life because it could put someone off something fierce.

I will admit to not reading your diary at length, you have had several well done banners that I have clicked on but your writing was not something that I wanted to return to. I am not going to pass judgment on you as a person, however viewing things in fairness and under the construct set up for us in Saint Luke�s Gospel where Christ tells us that you can tell someone�s heart by what comes out of their mouth. I will admit that I can sometimes be irreverent but at the same time, an irreverent view of life makes it a little easier to endure. Writing is catharsis and the fact that my catharsis relieves the stresses others lives is great too.

As far as your questioning my professionalism and my commitment to the Lord, you have a great deal of nerve. I left a very good paying, prestigious position to serve the Lord and I work very hard and I do my job very well. It consumes my entire being, all my thoughts, my time, and all of my energies. Even when I go out for a beer with my cousin or work at my second job it is all to support my ministry at the school. I may not come across as self-righteous enough for you and I apologize for that, however I serve the Lord with all my heart, all my soul, and, all my mind. No one who knows me agrees with your assessment of me, but thank you for it.

The worst part of a banner run is the people who read one entry and make passing judgments. The person claimed to be a member of my religious order but after consulting another member, they pointed out that we do not treat each other like that. For us, it is one for all and all for one.

10:48 PM :: 1 comments so far ::
prev :: next