some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

finger guns

October 06, 2004
I should be working.

My parents are visiting. I work by day, tour and entertain by night.

My parents arrived on Friday night.

I do not have cable television, which poses an important problem for my parents: where are they going to get their Law & Order fix? I went to Blockbuster to rent a few episodes of the show, figuring that since it is on DVD that it would also be available at Blockbuster. Apparently, I am full of shit. They have no such thing available so I picked out some Tom Cruise movie where he falls in love with a previously unheard of actress and kills people.

I went to the wrong terminal at the airport because Jeremy called me. My world stops for Jeremy. I did not pay attention to which airline came into which building so I just stopped at the first one. I was not aware that there were more terminals. Then, my parent�s plane was late and I spent a long time sitting in the wrong terminal listening to Jeremy talk (he is one of the few people that I will listen to instead of talk to death) with calls to Emily and other friends peppered into the conversation.

My parent�s tardiness and my mad dash across the airport to find them caused us to be heading home much later than any place that serves food is open. Luckily, I had a backup plan that caused us to eat dinner at one thirty in the morning � the perfect time to load up on carbohydrates.

The next day (Saturday is what we call it in the profession) we went to New Jersey to attend a party for my cousin who is going to Samoa. This party was not unlike any party ever given but it was absurd in ways that my family is absurd. I would write about it in detail but this line is not always secure.

The party was Sunday; I was a wreck Saturday. I wanted nothing to do with anyone. I was full of sarcasm and thinly veiled criticisms of everything from other people�s driving to the color of the cocktail napkins. I tried to bury myself in my book and drown out the word with the iPod. Nothing worked for me.

This is what I came away from the party with for you. I used to secretly think that John Edwards was not completely evil, in the part of my mind that I hide from Kipp and Jeremy. Not so, I realized this weekend that he is pure evil because he does that frat-preppy boy finger gun trick when he says hello, good-bye, or recognizes you on the street. Apparently, shooting someone down with finger guns is the Nuevo Riche �aloha.� Then there was the Vice-Presidential debate, which I found funny but I am going to ignore it here (for now).

I have two girl cousins and the older girl cousin�s boyfriend shoots people with finger guns and now I know why the younger one does not like him too well � finger gun shooting is symptom of terrible disease. The boyfriend also called my mother Mrs. Last Name � she is called by her first name by everyone including her own children. He puts me off my natural balance.

We came home late Sunday night, after a visit to my father�s male genetic donor, which lasted longer than it ever should have.

Monday we went to IKEA of New Haven to get my Christmas present. I have the IKEA POANG chair, with matching ottoman in blue suede. They will buy me blue suede furniture but not the matching shoes. I am a little annoyed at that � but I will keep that to myself. We went to Lenny and Joe�s in Madison, Connecticut for dinner. Lenny and Joe�s is always listed in what is considered the best of Connecticut. It was okay � I did not have seafood so I have no idea. There is so little seafood that I eat and all of it was out of season.

Tuesday I went with my parents antiquing. I should have run into the middle of a busy street instead of go along on this outing but I did not want my personal dislike of antique shopping to ruin their time. The silver lining was finding two Christmas presents for other people. However, Dad broke stuff in one antique store (Dad + Antique Store = Disaster)

Today was just spent around the house and at the mall.

Funny stories from teaching coming soon�


11:22 PM :: 4 comments so far ::
prev :: next