some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

it's getting humid in here

September 28, 2004
I am getting my substitute instructions ready for when I might be gone due to
circumstances beyond my control, and honestly nothing bothers me more than circumstances beyond my control.

My class, while compassionate towards my situation has that normal, selfish reaction to the situation considering it will involve them being displaced and disrupted. I understand their predicament, they are not used to having substitutes, and they are not fans of the idea anymore than I am but since life refuses to confine itself to weekends, evenings, and the summer holiday I have to work around it.

Today during Social Studies, one of the fourth graders stood up from his chair and dramatically announced, �Rhode Island is not our pimple� while the class looking at colonial era maps.

Fourth grade this year is militant, rules oriented, and, in general very loud. Fifth grade is very pernicious and I am about tired of it. There are four boys in fifth grade and one girl. The girl is a candidate for Sainthood (so far) and the boys are about to be tossed out with the rubbish.

Also, in reference to
Betty Already, Dunkin� Donuts coffee can bite my shiny, metal ass. The people who work there most be trained in being unhelpful and rude. I told the woman today what I wanted and, �hold the snark.�

Being bitchy to pre-coffee adults is such a foolhardy, dangerous idea. What are these people thinking?

My wireless reaches my desk in my classroom. How bad am I? It�s back to work time for me, I will talk to you later.

12:35 PM :: 6 comments so far ::
prev :: next