some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

Norm was the Man.

September 27, 2004
I had this dream that I was invited to sit behind the President during one of his campaign speeches. So, I was sitting there next to Condi Rice behind the President when I realize that who I think is the President is actually Michael J. Fox. I point this out to Condi Rice who shushes me and then I realize after trying and trying to tell her this that she knows because it is all a part of her plan.

Later I get home and I post this on my BLOG and on my diary where the readers think I am saying, �he was not the President,� in that ill-informed, what the hell is the electoral college, kind of way that makes Al Gore (unhinged and unplugged) the President of the United States. Only diarist golfwidow believes me and posts this information on her diary.

Later, we are drug to the set of Cheers by the secret service where (the actor who played) Norm informs us that this is all his doing and that he has installed himself as Vice-President (impersonating Cheney) and Alex P. Keeton is now impersonating George W. Bush.

I demanded a recount. Norm laughed at this and said, �of the whole state or just the parts that like you?� Golf Widow reminded me that she is the only person in Connecticut who likes me so it did not matter if there were a Republican Recount (one of the whole state) or an Al Gore Recount (just your friends) because she liked the idea of the 1980�s sitcom running our country.

For the rest of my life I was to portray Woody at the Cheers set being that I once was a clueless Midwestern Lutheran while Golf Widow, at first amused by the idea of being a snarky waitress at Cheers soon learned that we were not really serving beer and that yes, Cliff Claven was that annoying in person � cameo in Empire Strikes Back or not. In this situation, we were called the Vice-Presidential Staff.

My best friend came to look in on me and see what happened. He was allowed to bring me home but thought that getting to order me around and call me a name that also meant �boner� was too much to let up so he did that instead of taking me home. Worst of all that stupid "I like girls who wear Abercrombie & Fitch" song kept playing every hour because it mentioned the President.

I woke up tired from the bar tending.

7:36 AM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next