some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

and because he�s a Hutt, we all kiss his butt (or he�ll feed us to the Rancor for tea)

August 22, 2004

This morning was a special time I take out of my week that I call, �it�s all about me.� This usually happens all the time and it is great fun. It is a time where I focus on myself, by myself things, and basically enjoy my life.

Today I went to Starbucks in Madison, Connecticut for breakfast where I sat and prepared lessons for my students. This made it look like I was alone on purpose and prevented people from starting up conversation with me. I go to Starbucks to do lesson planning because people call the house, stop by, or instant message me if I am home. Starbucks is a port in the storm of my life. I had a venti Caf� Mocha, a piece of coffee cake, filled with scrumptious carbohydrates and a small table to plan the first chapter of Fourth Grade Social Studies.

I then went to R.J. Julia Booksellers to get my book club book. I like this bookstore because it is independent, class and the people are marvelous. Barnes & Noble gives me a discount, but they also give me an attitude so I do not give them my business. �Bitch, Please!� is a turn of phrase, a colloquialism in the Republic of Spritopias; it is by no means a request for you to get on my case.

At R.J. Julia, I did not acquire my book club book. I did learn that it weights in at eight hundred pages, twenty-eight dollars, and will be delivered unto me on Tuesday. Our book club book is, �Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell� and has gotten great reviews (read: I will probably hate it) but it is described as a grown up Harry Potter (read: swooning). I resisted acquiring the Edgar Allen Poe and Sherlock Holmes action figures they offered but I did get a Mad Libs daily calendar for one dollar. I also got this:

I do not have a name for him yet. I realize that there is something inherently unstable about someone who names inanimate objects and numbers children, but this object clearly has personality, spunk, and most importantly: class. I think my gnome has downs syndrome, which does not diminish his appeal.

This gnome will travel many places with me, meet celebrities, and wrench chaos out of order; every chance he gets. Everyone should have one and I fell entitled to mine as my sister did not get them the Chinese Restaurant Buddha at the flea market.

Emily, if you are reading this be wary! Thou shalt not blaspheme the gnome as you have blasphemed the iPod! I will not hear it!

After R.J. Julia, I took the scenic way back home through Historic Durham, nondescript Middletown and then hooked up with Connecticut Highway Nine back to Hartford. I realized today, while not watching the road, that I can see my house from the highway (the steeple anyway) and that was so exciting I nearly ran into a BMW.


�Click my cleavage for Creepatron!�

12:52 PM :: 10 comments so far ::
prev :: next