some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

stupid dumb car

August 19, 2004
Today I had to take my car in for repairs. The initial estimate for what they thought could be wrong was anywhere between eighty and two thousand dollars to fix, this was just one thing. There were five other things wrong with the car.

There is a box that houses part of your air conditioning unit; I am clueless about it all. My box was cracked; replacing the box would take two days of labor and a four hundred dollar part. This would total about fifteen hundred dollars. That smells to me like a down payment on a car that does not have problems. They could also just fill the crack with some glue, hope that worked and only charge me the thirty dollars the labor to figure out what was wrong could cost. Did you understand that sentence? Good. Can you guess which way my inner Hebrew led me? Exactly, and this time it did not take forty years in the desert.

I had four other things and an oil change. All told I spent three hundred dollars on my car today. I really need to date someone who knows about cars because I am sure I paid too much considering they could have charged me anything for any work they wanted done.

The best part of being at the car dealership was someone being fired for making some sort of bad decision. We all got to hear it about it. Before he got fired this guy strutted into work and sexually harassed the receptionist, then he played a loud video game on his cell phone. His gaming was interrupted, and this is my favorite part, by being sent on a coffee run. While he was out getting coffee everyone discussed how he was �so canned� and how they were going to can him. I wish I had thought ahead to take pictures of the blessed event. He left in tears after being loudly berated and while I cannot relate to you why he was fired because I do not understand it, he apparently saddled them with a ton of unwanted used cars and has been inept at moving them off the lot, got them involved in a shady auction where none of them sold and then brought back the wrong coffees. The wrong coffees are enough for me, I do not know about you.

1:57 PM :: 1 comments so far ::
prev :: next