some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

I am so done, turn me over - it feels like I am falling for the first time

August 19, 2004
Today I had lunch with the Nursery Director today at a Chinese Restaurant here in town. My colon has been a trouper this week, surviving two trips to Taco Bell, all kinds of tomato laden Italian food (I am allergic to tomatoes) and I had mango. This week I have the colon of steel and a stomach coated with iron. I figured, �what the hell�� when asked out for Chinese food. I am the boy with the invincible colon; I can handle it. Then came the whispers of my nameless fear in my fortune cookie. Your luck has been completely changed today.

Damn.

Our lunch conversation was the normal fair: gossip about our coworkers, employers, students, and their parents. Being appraised of the goings on of our students and their families helps us serve them better; keeping tabs on coworkers and employers is not a professional necessity but a fruit of being snarky bitches.

Today at lunch I learned:

The Vietnamese boy in my class, who once told me to call him Charlie because he was Viet Cong and plotting my death has an interesting birth name: Hung Dong. His parents decided to find an English name for him and had his name changed to something so white bread that even Laura Bush would balk at it. Normally I am opposed to the practice of changing names and giving nicknames but some how a kid going through life as Hung Dong is really cruel, even if he was adequately equipped for the career in movies that his name implies.

Idiot Music teacher inherited a nice vacation home when here father died this summer, a tragedy that has caused her stress and kept her from work on days near long weekends throughout the previous academic year was in danger of loosing her job for the upcoming one, but that is no longer an issue. She remains on the roster and this confused me a great deal, because I have a nice place for her head on my mantle. I was spearheading the intrigue that was to be her undoing and some how during my vacation it was all swept under the rug. She has been letting out that very vacation home to our superiors and members of the board of education. I am not worried because I always, always land on my feet.

While I will not go into why she needs to be ousted from her post, I should note that I am normally not the one to work towards people being unemployed. It is not that I do not like her but I do not like how she treats my students. She cannot control the students and so she is abusive to them, also she lashes out at a teacher�s class if she has a disagreement with the teacher. Someone who is unkind to the students has no place in a classroom; that is the beginning and end of the story.

The other gossip mainly revolves around parents who are drug addicts and our secret dislike of the first grade teacher. We are nice to her because we are nice to everyone, aside from our luncheons where snark is on the menu.

Thanks to an unscrupulous Chinese restaurant, I ate dog for lunch and my luck has indeed changed. I think I am going to die of kidney failure.


�Click My cleavage for Creepatron!�

Secretly, I rock it to Hanson when I write these and dance in my desk chair, which needs repair work because it has rocked it too hard for too long. Give me a one hit wonder and I am a happy sprite.

8:43 PM :: 0 comments so far ::
prev :: next