some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

I am going on the Atkin�s Diet, but only for the bacon.

August 16, 2004
In my last entry Tab, from The View from Her I answered a bunch of questions, one of them was:
Fall or spring?
Fall in New England.

The correct answer is: Fall in New England, Spring in Amsterdam or Rome. Amsterdam so you can see the tulips bloom (fruity, but delicious) and Rome is always beautiful, but Spring is when it is nice to walk around.

I want cable for this upcoming election and then I will also need TiVo because if you are going to do something, do it right. I want TiVo because I do not want to miss a single Saturday Night Live, not with these two clowns running. This is going to be too good for words. This election could only have been made better if Dean was running but I will have to find contentment in the Flip Flopper in Chief.

Today I got my school shoes. You can see them here at East Bay if you search for product 385509. I am the teacher and I will have those kicks.

Today I saw my secret crush, the Kindergarten Teacher. She is really not my secret crush but I tell my class that and it disturbs them greatly. She was their teacher long ago so the idea that she is anyone�s girlfriend, much less wife or mother is foreign to them. She is a like a luxury, superfluous grandmother in their world.

She kicks ass and takes names later. She told me when the last Matrix movie came out that she was the Oracle in a new form. She said, we were in Matrix, and she even had cookies. She is a vegetarian, she goes to all the movies, and concerts,drives a convertible. She is almost a hippie but she does not cross over to the dark side. We are going to Ikea on Thursday.

She is not opposed to spending money as many of our coworkers are. If we need something for our classroom and no one will get it for us, we go get it ourselves. We both also really care about the kids and she would have been at the Baptism on Sunday but her son was getting married. I was the only teacher to show up and the kid went to our school. Normally Lutherans baptize babies and I do not know how he was not baptized for so long.

I was disappointed about the baptism for three reasons. First, we did it after church. Baptism is many things but one of them is a welcoming of the baptized into our community of faith, the community should have been there. At least more than myself, his family, and the chair of the school board should have been there.

Second, the sermon was about (in part) about not just talking the talk of Christianity but walking the walk. No one does this well in any faith or philosophy (for those of you �devoid� of faith) but we should all try harder. During the baptism you could hear people yelling and cursing about some repair that needed to be done to the pipe organ. That conversation needed to be had. I did not need to happen with that language, or at that moment in time. Sure, Senator Robert Byrd � the scion of the Democratic Party uses Nigger on the Senate floor, the Vice-President told someone to �fuck off,� and Former First Lady and Democratic Star Senator Hillary Rodham Clinton makes racist jokes about Ghandi but we should not be profane or racist as Christians. On Sunday and at Church, even. At least I wait until after my Sunday nap to start backsliding. I had to climb over the railing on the altar to shut a door behind it so we did not have to hear people making such fools of themselves. It was really sad.

Finally, this should have been done during the regular service. It should have been a part of our worship service. I have no idea why it was done in such a sneaky way. That was tacky. It was also tacky that the other teachers who could have shown up did not. It could and, should have been done better.

Luckily, the boy was happy for the people who were there and did not notice the problems that I did.

11:44 PM :: 0 comments so far ::
prev :: next