some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

everyone who smiles is not secretly laughing at you

August 09, 2004
We are back to �Living La Vida Anne Frank� since the people who work in the offices below my apartment are back. Mind you, they are not working and they rarely are. However, I need to not be so loud so that they can do whatever it is that the do.

I wonder sometimes, in light of their complaints, if they considered that someone would be living here and not just occupying the space. I have not made many complaints about the apartment or requests for changes. Some days I think I should be the tenant they complain that I am.

The following is an unpleasant personal discussion about health issues. I have these two little warts on my fingers. It is preventing me from proudly making my gang sign. I had to buy this stuff to freeze the wart off myself today at Target. While I was in Target this man was following me around, excuse me�Whitney Houston just wandered onto my MP3 Spinner, I have to change that. Okay, I am back�so this man was following me around. I do not know why but he was and he kept talking to me and commenting on the things that I was looking at. I picked up this one wart removal product, pretended to read the instructions, turned to him, and said, �Did you know you cannot use this on genital warts?� I put it back on the shelf and picked up another one. He walked away.

Then I wandered back to the school supplies because my shopping friend had a problem with Crayola products and I had a hard time tolerating his anti globalization/pro-Rose Art rant. Crayola is a better product; I will pay extra for it. I got about twelve different things for my classroom and paid under ten dollars.

The young woman at the checkout asked if I had many children because I was buying many crayons and I said, �No, I am the teacher.� She asked why I was buying the supplies for the students and I had to explain that kids do not bring them. They do not and I should not buy things for them but how can I do my job when they cannot do their job? I was nice to her, even if her comments were dumb because the person ahead of me was really cruel. I also feel it is my job to be nice to people working in retail because so many of you are really awful.

Just in case you were wondering, when the things at the store ring up wrong it is because the cashier is trying to piss you off so please, be a bitch to them. They deserve it and you should feel free considering that you never make mistake yourself.

I talked to my mother for a half hour about her visiting in October and I did not upset her once. This is an accomplishment for me since I usually do since I refuse to speak to her parents, siblings, or nephews.

The more he talks, the more I like Alan Keyes. I even liked his deft remarks on how his race for the Senate differs from Senator Clinton�s run. Sure, he sounds like a creation of Jim Henson�s imagination but when you stop listening to how he is saying it and listen to what he is saying it is impressive. If people did that with Senator Kerry, he would be a lot less popular. His acceptance of his nomination contradicted itself at least five times. I would also love for someone to ask where he is going to get the trillion dollars he will need to fund his programs.

Kipp and Paul are going on a road trip and I am working on a sound track for their road trip across America. Since I was not invited, I am compiling all the worst songs on my MP3 spinner onto disks and mailing them to Paul, the capital of Paulsylvania to annoy them since I cannot do it in person.

8:01 PM :: 3 comments so far ::
prev :: next