some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

coffee table, continued

August 07, 2004
Today I went to Ikea � New Haven. The ride was easy, there was nothing on the road that pissed me off. I merged at the meeting of Interstates 91 and 95 and was able to get to my exit okay. I found a good parking spot.

This is when I decided that something was going to go wrong.

I walked into the store and went in backwards to get to the warehouse and check if they had the table at all. They did, they had a lot of them. I was shocked. There were so many that I did not bother getting one and then returning to look at other things. I shopped in the market area for things I thought I needed or really did need. I needed the baskets that go under the table in the cubbies as well as coasters because I am neurotic. It�s a new table, I would like it to stay nice for a while and I enjoy being a jerk.

I also got a doormat (99 cents) and some wooden hangers (clothes look nicer when they come off of wooden hangers). I also paid for all of this with cash, which was a great feeling. I actually debited it but it is the same, lame thing. I was sure this was where my plans would fail because my debit never works at Wal Mart because Wal Mart is run by bastards.

I got home after a quick swing through Wendy�s for a burger. It was time to put the table together.

This is when I decided that something was going to go wrong.

It took me, catch this, ten minutes after I got everything out of the box, to put it together. I felt like a stud. I carried the big ass box up the steps myself and put the thing together without incident in ten minutes. Furniture projects can sometimes take as many as three days for me, I think that ten minutes is absurdly quick.

Renewed Diary Land Cribs, coming soon.

8:28 PM :: 3 comments so far ::
prev :: next