some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

fool me twice: shame on me.

July 14, 2004
Today when I woke up my Spider Sense was tingling. I knew it was going to happen.

I have this acquaintance here at home with problems and a problem myself that become evident through this entry.

First, the acquaintance is what you should understand. He likes to stand people up and not just stand them up, he will act like he is sorry he stood you up and tell everyone who will listening how funny the idea of you waiting somewhere for him was. The problem with being an asshole is that the asshole things you say and do come full circle, people talk.

The second thing you have to remember that I am way to forgiving towards people. I let things go to far. I forgive them and let them treat me like garbage and it goes too far and then I end up being burned. I have this stupid idea that if I forgive people they will eventually be better people.

Well, today my acquaintance whom I considered a friend until about 8:30 this morning stood me up after insisting I go on this outing with him to Cincinnati. He does not have the common decency when he does not want to do something after he makes plans to call you and tell you, send you an email or an instant message. He was planning on just letting me hang out in the parking lot until I figured it out on my own.

He just does not show up. I figured that this was the case this morning and called him to let him know that I knew what was up. In the middle of his feeble attempt at, explanation I cut him off and hung up. I thought immediately of Yvonne and how proud I am that she has rid herself of toxic friends. I should really do a better job of following her example.

Why spend scant vacation time and money on fools who are going to stand you up as a joke? The worst part of this humiliation is that this �friend� has been on me like a wet blanket since they found out I was even coming home after pretty much ignoring my existence since moving to New England unless they had some lame story to tell or needed someone to listen to their problems.

I am not so much embarrassed that I was stood up because you cannot stop someone else from being a jerk. I am embarrassed that I knew this was going to happen and I just let it happen. Fool me once: shame on you. Fool me twice: shame on me.

I know this person has problems. I know this person needs friends. I should be there for this person and put aside my hurt feelings and just deal with their antics because there are times when we all need someone. You are right but do me a favor: plug your bleeding heart: I do not have one.

So, today he pretty much cancelled my subscription because I do not need his issues. He can sell crazy some place else because we are all stocked up here. I am not going to be the theraputic doormat for the world.

There are people who know me and do not like me, including the standing up �friend� who read this and are getting a good laugh at my expense. Enjoy it now because you are more than likely next.

But, this morning? My spider sense was tingling. I knew this was going to happen. I should have just stayed in bed. I'm just glad I didn't prepay for my ticket or I would have been pissed.

11:17 PM :: 4 comments so far ::
prev :: next