some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

Philly

July 03, 2004
On my mini-vacation I:
slept (finally)
ate (too much, too often)
went mini-golfing with three of my cousins
visited the Eastern State Penitentiary in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Visited the Constitution Center � also in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
watched television

The Eastern State Penitentiary was something of a last minute plan on our part. We had been vaguely aware of it for a while now but had not actually visited it.

We were supposed to visit the Mummer�s Museum with Nancy and learn to strut as Mummer�s strut on Wednesday. Nancy would have none of this and stayed up all night partying and then in the morning claimed she had caught some horrible malady from the denizens of Big Lots so she would not have to go. Nancy, Donald Trump and I agree, �You�re Fired!�

The Eastern State Penitentiary is a funny name because Pennsylvania is not a state: it is a commonwealth like Virginia, Kentucky, and Massachusetts. I also think it is strange to assign the penitentiaries to the state � who else has them? Were we on the wrong side of town? Should we have been jealous of not being enrolled at the Eastern Private Penitentiary? I am sure they have better meals and cleaner showers.

The penitentiary was interesting because of its disrepair. The penitentiary is a �stable ruin,� which means it is standing the way it is to convey the message of what incarceration was like. It was not pleasant.

I am for prison reform on some levels because it is dehumanizing in a couple different ways but at the same time the penitentiary is not supposed to be fun. We are supposed to reform our wayward citizens not just punish them but at the same time they have broken our laws so I do not trend towards feeling bad for them either.

The penitentiary featured a lot of art as well. The penitentiary inspired artists, or the plight of the incarcerated did. Some of the art conveyed a message and others sought to make a political statement and often did it poorly. Just as a note to leftist and rightist agitators everywhere: referring to people who disagree with your point of view �barbarians� will never change their mind and only alienate them. I cannot blame you however, you are taking your rhetorical cues from the Michael Moore/Rush Limbaugh construct of �preach to the choir.�

After leaving the penitentiary, we went to the Constitution Center, which opened a year ago. On the way to the Constitution Center I was supposed to be navigating, poor choice really because I cannot find my way around my college and it was wicked tiny. I had a lapse of judgment and decided to answer my phone and it took me a minute to realize I was being an ass.

We got to the plaza where Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and the Constitution Center (with over one-hundred AND fifty hands-on exhibits!) and were blessed that Christine Butler was there to give us directions to the parking garage. It was very kind of her considering she was on her break but since she was waiting for April Pfundt so they could smoke a cigarette.

The United States Constitution is one of my favorite things to teach and the ideas that provide the foundation for the United States Government and beautiful, simple, and profound. The dramatic presentation about American History and the formation of our government was over the top, the music was too loud but I was still moved by it all.

I did disagree with the idea that Women�s Suffrage and the Civil Rights Movement were different movements. I think that the suffrage movement was the precursor for the Civil Rights movement and was more important as it paved the way for �We the People,� including all of the people in our Republic.

They also had one of those civic cows; I do not know the name but the ones where cities decorate the cow to represent their town�s uniqueness, it started in Chicago. The cow was made of the constitution, had the Liberty Bell as its bell and you could see the Philadelphia Museum of Art in its eyes (the one Rocky ran up and down). It was cool and you are sorry you missed it.

The gift shop had a Barbara Bush bobble head. I want that, I want that a lot.

Then we went back home and ate pizza.

Here are some featured winners from my buzz net listed below (please notice that my buzz net is so much better than Kipp�s):

�That is one tasty burger�

Bald Spot

Dream Car

The light at the end of the tunnel

12:15 AM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next