some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

I'm going to count to splern and when I do...

June 27, 2004
I read an article on stopping tantrums and I did not know that it is actually suggested to people to count to their kids. �When I get to three you need to start taking me seriously!� That always said to me, �I�m impotent! I have no power! I am a throw rug, walk on me!�

I try to avoid sharing my thoughts on parenting because I am just a teacher; I do not have my own children. Teaching children and the management dynamics of a classroom are different than those found in homes. My world is different. This is one of two things I wish no parent would do (the other? home schooling).

My parents never did the counting game but it was always fun to watch other kids do what the wanted until two, two and a half, two and three quarters, two and seven eighths. This is actually the last time I remember being slapped (on the arm) by my mother for saying, �Look, Mom! Aunt Marilyn is teaching fractions in home-school today!�

She has no control over her children and I think that, besides her covert racism, is a reason for keeping her children out of school. I am not saying that all home school parents are lunatics but it does not help the cause of home schooling that so many lunatics are home schooling. If I were my Aunt and I had decided not to drown the children I had given birth to I would keep them away from other humans as well. I would die of embarrassment.

10:46 AM :: 8 comments so far ::
prev :: next