some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

I don't know why you'd want to be such a control freak

June 25, 2004
For my views on Michael Moore, his art and �Farenheit 9/11 please visit Michael Moore: a clanging cymbal and a resounding gong

the following presentation is just a bunch of bitching and moaning

I am tired of people attacking me because of their view of my religious, political, and social views. I do not impose them upon people in real life and I do not attack people for their beliefs. Sure, I am vocal about my beliefs on this page but I on the advice of LL Cool J, �keep it on the wax.�

In response to this I did something childish and passive aggressive. I blocked people from instant messenger. Who cares that I blocked them? I thought so too. I provide a comments section as well as other avenues to contact me but I do not provide my instant messenger or phone number because those are not forums in which I choose to debate.

I do not shy away from a vigorous academic discussion or debate; I was well trained in debate and rhetoric. However, I do shy away from arguing with people, especially people not trained in debate.

A fundamental thing to understand about people with religious beliefs: faith is an emotional, not logical process. Emotive processes cannot be debated because they are not rooted in reason. I believe in a man born of a virgin who performed miracles including rising from the dead and ascending into heaven after being crucified. If that is not an absurd thing to believe in than nothing is absurd. However, I believe in that with all my heart, soul, and mind; millions do too.

Additionally, there is a difference between members of churches and the �church� as an organizational unit. The Lutheran Church - Missouri Synod has a doctrinal positions on everything, every denominational unit does. However, individual members of those groups do not necessarily uphold each position of their denominational unit, I would venture the guess that most do not. Attacking someone for the position of an organization�s member is not fair; engaging them in debate about it is fair. If understanding is your goal then go for it. In my experience, however, conversion is the goal � not understanding between people. I have never seen �conversion by emotional abuse� work.

Attacking me on the basis of my faith, on the basis of my membership (professional and communicant) in the Lutheran Church � Missouri Synod, or the basis of the centuries old doctrinal positions of the Church in Synod is something I will no longer entertain.

Staking this out comes as a final critique of several (former) friends who in dealing with personal problems in life have looked to their faith for answers and found something they were not looking for. When they found the answer and did not like it they decided to attack me in response.

Yes, I subscribe to a belief system that is out of touch with current social movements. Yes, your life style choices are in conflict with my religious beliefs. No, I did not bring it up and no, I don�t care. I do, however, care that you are taking out your feelings out on me. That is not what friends do. I guess this means we are not friends and while I am know you do not care I want you to know that I am angry not at you but at myself for being angry about this at all.

Please feel free to�

bite my shiny, metal ass

10:54 PM :: 4 comments so far ::
prev :: next