some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

insomnia

June 22, 2004
I logged onto Orkut last night before pretending to sleep and was perplexed by the amount of messages that I had. They were all in Portuguese from people in Brazil.

WARNING
SARCASM TO FOLLOW

Brazil seems to have missed the memo about this being the Western Hemisphere. We speak SPANISH here. I do not know what is going on in Brazil; they must think they are the Quebec of South America. Speaking Portuguese as if they are all crazy in Brazil but you cannot expect too much out of a country that enjoys Senator Hillary Rodham Clinton�s panties as much as they do. I do not speak Spanish myself but at least I know that I am supposed to be speaking Spanish. Wait until Oprah hears about this, she is going to be heated.

Can you tell I have not slept a full hour since Saturday? I can tell.

I want to fall asleep and snore in a manner that keeps people in other rooms awake. I want to thrash about and make my bed a huge tangle of linens. I want have a night terror and fall on the floor waking up with Buddy barking in my face saying, in Dalmatian, �Portuguese? Are you crazy? This is not Lisbon!� and then demanding to be fed. I want to drool on my pillows. I want to throw the book I was reading before I fell asleep at the alarm clock. I would not even mind a night mare or that dream you have where a loved one who has passed on is still alive or that you had not broken up with that fantastic girlfriend.

It is a little known fact that I can speak to Dalmatians and geese. I am really quite good at it. Okay, I made that up. I cannot speak to Canadian Geese because I am terrible with French.

6:49 AM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next