some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

High School: Please, grow out of it.

June 22, 2004
I set up my DVD player wrong. I had taken it down to school because we wanted to watch a DVD and I had just gotten down to setting back up this afternoon.

I got it all set up and I was getting my dinner ready (read: spooning out ice cream) and I hear Tom Brokaw prattling on about something and then I hear, �Citizens of Earth, I am Liir of Omicron Perseii Eight� Then Lirr, of Omicron Perseii Eight, proceeded to give instructions to the citizens of Earth. It took me a minute to catch that it was my Futurama DVD and not actually Liir, of Omicron Perseii Eight.

I mentioned in an earlier entry ( lonesome crowded west? not available) that I had gotten a Modest Mouse album, �Good News for People Who Love Bad News.� My phrasing sparked controversy, which centered on two things. I mentioned that I had �jumped on the bandwagon� and avid readers know that I am a bandwagon jumper. I am not a music person so it takes me a while to find albums that I enjoy enough to buy them.

Second, I am not a music person and this second controversy was just with me. I am not a music person so I do not, for future reference, care that you are the bigger fan or that you are the Christopher Columbus of popular culture. You could have given birth to the band, taught them to sing and promoted the album and I still will not think more of you.

If it makes you feel good about yourself then bully for you. It does not change my opinion about anything besides the fact that music snobbery is just annoying as any other kind of snobbery. Music is not my thing, reading and writing are, and I do not run around sharing that I have been reading The Prairie Schooner longer than your mother has or trying to prove that I get more out of the Atlantic Monthly than you do.

High School: Please, grow out of it.

To my credit, the Princess assures me that I was never a high school student merely a student in high school. I apparently approach my academics (and career) with a very Prussian seriousness. The Princess and I are not just German but Prussian AND Aristocratic Prussians to boot and unlike the other Americans who claim relation toroyalty, we can actually prove it. Minor aristocrats but cavorting with minor is very popular on the internet.

It�s time for bed�more entries to follow.

12:57 AM :: 1 comments so far ::
prev :: next