some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

mail call

June 22, 2004
My secretary is a card. Today I went down to check my mail, as my mail comes to the office, and I was flipping though the new issues of Time Magazine and said, �Well, did you see this?� I say that and intend to then give a dissertation about whatever is in the magazine, first factual and then editorial. A skill that debaters develop is: look, analyze and articulate the presented information quickly.

What surprised me was my secretary�s response, �Yes, I read that too. I read all of your magazines.� I have never doubted this but what surprised me was the brazen admission of her act. I am not sure I would call it a crime or even unethical but it was still strange. It would no surprise me if she told me she was also reading my mail. She has to sort it and I am sure she files the bits of my personal life she can gather from the outside of envelopes and packages.

You can learn a lot about a person this way. I have worked in many jobs where I encountered other people�s correspondence. With whom they correspond, who sends them packages and what magazines they read is a wealth of information about the person.

I detest gossip but this form of information gathering leaves me with an option the gossip does not have. I get to create my own character sketch and fiction about the person involved.

More to come after another exciting episode of PAYING MY BILLS

6:39 PM :: 1 comments so far ::
prev :: next