some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

why didn't you remind me to pay my student loan?

June 15, 2004
For me it is finally summer. I turned in all of my paper work to the school, so beyond my obligations to religious order and the extra duties I choose to take on I am free until the beginning of September.

I might organize a summer camp for the last two weeks in August to get my students ready for the impending school year. The poor incoming fourth graders have no idea what they are in for next year.

To give you an idea of what my day is like, I will be teaching about twenty classes in seven hours, two sections of social studies, spelling, hand writing, grammar, composition, one section each of science, religion, German, three sections of math and five sections of reading. That is about twenty one things I need to prepare for in addition to the daily warm up where we review the parts of what ten-year-olds need to know to survive in the world � things like health, art, technology, music and being a human then there are the multitude of things I need to assess them on that never seems to get covered but I have to observe.

People who think teaching is easy are sadly mistaken. There is a reason I have the summer off � I need to plan all of that. Then you have the people who have the head for instructing or the heart for teaching but not both, they are a barrel of monkeys to work this. The nice thing about my school is that only one teacher is a dim wit. She is proficient at her job but at the same time is a tyrant that no child loves and no coworker likes. I am so glad I am not the office pariah.

I helped the nursery teacher � my valiant defender � pack up her room and cart the stuff to storage. As the youngest male it is my duty to help out in those situations. I know many people view my attitude as sexist and terrible but those same people get pissed that people do not open doors or help people carry things. It is not so much a gender or age issue, some people tend to be helpful and I am one of those people. I can carry heavy things, I should carry heavy things.

Then we had lunch with old Polish people. It was interesting to watch them but at the same time I can not describe it.

Now is the time where I go to my second job, suck it up and enjoy the fact that I get to participate in my favorite activity: people watching. It is too bad Mr. Kenobi is the only person who can read at second job because the characters for my book that are coming from this job are fantastic.

Troy Miles, I refuse to believe you are so happy in Hawaii if you read this every night. There are a great deal better things to do on the internet and at the Hickam Air Base than read me, every night. Especially considering you hate me, doesn�t it seem childish � or is that just me?

3:48 PM :: 1 comments so far ::
prev :: next