some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

I am ready to retire.

May 26, 2004
Today the girl in my class broke a musical instrument over the head of one of the boys in my class while we were walking the hall down to the sanctuary for chapel. The boy was checked out, he is okay but after school I get a phone call in the school offices.

It is the guardian of the girl who broke the instrument and she wants to talk to me. I am expecting an apology for her child being the school bully and a pain in the ass from the day she strolled into my classroom wicked tardy.

Instead of an apology I got a demand that the BOY replace the instrument that was broken over HIS head. I was aghast. I was speechless for three seconds and told the woman, �Absolutely not, this will not happen. It will happen over my dead body. Your child is a bully and this entire year I have all bet begged you to do something about it. Now you are mad because you are finally feeling the weight of her actions instead of passing the buck and blame to everyone else. Good, I am glad! Good-bye.� Insert slamming phone, obscenity.

Can you imagine this? It�s absurd. I am ready to retire.

11:29 PM :: 4 comments so far ::
prev :: next