some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

Caesar Spritopias

May 18, 2004
I have a kid in my class that makes me climb the walls. He is a dork. All day he does this routine that is supposed to make the other kids laugh but all it does is make my third grader and fourth graders angry. My fourth graders wear their under-roos too tight and could use a little loosening up but this kid is an irritant.

Normally my classes go like this: I stand in front of the room and am a hard ass about everything like I was Caesar Spritopias ruling over my dominion. I run a tight ship and as well I should. It�s a school for the love of God. They�re supposed to be learning and working. I let them have fun and they have plenty of time to be kids but learning time is learning time. Their parents pay too much to have them goofing around all day.

With this one kid it�s a daily battle for control of the class � will he be entertaining them or will I be educating them? I feared that we were going have to change the sign from Saint Spritopias� School for Boys to Richard�s Dog and Pony Show when we started standardized testing but amazingly Richard hasn�t been the shortened form of his name � he�s been an angel.

I don�t know what crack they�re putting on his cereal but I want them to bottle and sell it. Most days he�s a real pill but the past two days he�s been mature, hard working and QUIET. I really thought that I would be in for, �The Passion of the Sprite� culminating with my horrid death at the hands of those I sought to help.

Who made Iowa king? I don�t know but I�m enjoying the break for thinking.

11:54 PM :: 5 comments so far ::
prev :: next