some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

crazy parents

May 01, 2004
This is how it works. If you put chocolate or garlic on it then I�ll put it in my mouth with little exception but my major weakness is not kryptonite but hazelnut centers. I realize that this isn�t news to anyone and I don�t pretend that anyone cares about that but I said it anyway.

I�ve been busy writing letters, e-mails and cards. Someone dying is a lot of work. I need to get over it but I also have to tie up these loose ends.

I have a lot or work to do, somehow, the same relatives that have no faith in me and having nothing good to say about me expect me to bring the family back together after all of this. People who don�t faith in my ability to tie my own shoes should depend on someone else for moral courage and familial leadership.

In other news, we had a field trip yesterday and that was a total disaster. My class has never acted so poorly in public before, I was truly embarrassed. I shouldn�t say �my class� it was only three out of seven who behaved poorly and we did have to sit, again, in an auditorium and wait for half an hour. Expecting good behavior under those conditions is kind of stupid. My class was told off by a three year old in our Nursury for their talking. Beautiful.

I would like to say something to the people in Japan who create the trading card games that boys are so fond of in my class: screw you.

I hate those stupid games, the cards and the constant discussions of them. The part that really bothers me is the trading action. Inevitably there is a problem with a trade and there are accusations of: stealing, lying, cheating or any other manner of bad faith between the two parties and then the real fun begins when the parents come in to the problem because during an altercation you can also count on parents to act half as mature as their child because, honestly, teachers are out to get your kids.

We hate kids and found that becoming a teacher is easy, the pay is great and the hours aren�t bad but best of all we get to damage kids. Yours in particular has been singled out for our malice. I understand that parents want to protect their children but most of them are doing more harm than good. It�s insane.

This stupid card game is causing more grief than when a kid brought a knife to school. Honestly now people, do you realize how insane this all is?

I love the parent in my classroom who honestly believed that when I punished (oh, yes Joanna, I punished him) for saying �bitch,� (I know the pot and the kettle) and she tried to tell me, �He told me he was talking about dog breeding.� Dog breeding my donkey.

This is what I wrote in the parent newsletter, please, pass this on to Lady Malfoy as she partly inspired the later half:

Word Choice is a problem we�re having with homonyms (one spelling, many meanings) in our class this month. There are some words that have an obscene and a harmless meaning; I understand this. I also know that none of your children has a donkey, breeds dogs or describes things is as happy or strange in quite the way we�ve been doing. I�m going to be intolerant of intolerance; there will be no name calling. Not every student is a part of this problem but it is a problem nonetheless and we all need to be a part of the solution.

I will talk to you all later.

11:39 AM :: 4 comments so far ::
prev :: next