some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

I don't know Jack.

April 18, 2004

This entry if found was brilliant and unless you�re a hate monger who hides from the truth, you�ll like it to. The diarist apparently didn�t write it but that doesn�t mean the words are any less excellent.

Kipp: the hottest thing to hit conservatism since Nancy Reagan, not to mention sassier than Barbara Pierce Bush. I can hardly stand it.

So far Spring Break has included: cleaning the house, watching Fight Club and playing computer games. It�s only day two of nine so I have some time yet but I need to get on the ball and fix things up around here and school. I just don�t feel like it, you know?

I realized today why I don�t like pets: the clean up and the smell. It�s the same reason I don�t want my own kids. The people I�m dog sitting for also have cats and I need to leave food out of the cats. The smell of wet dog and cat food makes my stomach turn not to mention the messes they make in yards and litter boxes. People also proffer the idea of potty training the cat to use a toilet. I wouldn�t go to that effort.

Women that I know like to jump on my disliking pets and state, �That�s because all men are afraid of commitment.� That�s not true either unless you look at the women saying these things because by in large they are unpleasant women who are unhappy about every possible aspect of their lives. I wouldn�t want to commit to a woman who hated herself, her life and everything in it. Who would? Before you comment notice I said �women that I know� I didn�t say all women.

Speaking of women and absurdity in action I just saw an ad on my mail service from the Ad Council that said, �When you have that father-son talk with your teen don�t leave out the hardest part � violence against women is wrong.� Violence against women is wrong but I can�t imagine that being the hardest thing you have to talk to your son about. Sex, drugs, alcohol, smoking, masturbation, personal hygiene and driving all seem a lot harder than, �keep your hands off the ladies. Rape is bad.�

In fact out of all the above listed things the two hardest when I was growing up was learning to drive and shave. My Dad was in the Army and taught me to shave OVER A PHONE because he was away doing his job. Learning to drive, as my sister can attest to, was another bear. I won�t even get into it but when the women in our family say, �drive safe,� they really mean �don�t drive like your father.�

It was always clear to me that violence towards anyone was wrong. Violence is on the answer if you�re looking for an eight-letter word that begins in v and ends in e.

The absurdity of the ad really lays in the fact in these generalizations that I�m about to make:
Generalization One: Men whose respect for their wives is so low that they beat them probably beat their children too and aren�t going out of their way to be good parents. Bad husbands are usually bad father too and while that isn�t always the case I can�t see someone treating his wife poorly and his kids well. They�re getting beaten to
Generalization Two Men who beat their wives or are violet towards them and/or other women probably don�t talk to their kids about and tell them it�s wrong. I have this picture in my head of �it�s okay for me to smoke but not for you��
Generalization Three: The cycle of violence must be broken by the women being victimized, not by the aggressors. That means we need a society that has structures to help these women and their children escape their situations and live in new ones that are safe and economically stable. The aggressors of tomorrow aren�t children like me who were in homes like mine Mom was respected and, to be honest, in charge but in homes where women are being abused. Children assume that what happens at home is normal and okay, it takes an astute mind to realize at an early age that it is not.
Generalization Four By the time they�re teens it�s to late. You have to start a lot earlier.
Generalization Five People with this problem or that need to do this aren�t going to get the hint from an internet ad.

What do I know? Jack.

Read Mary, she�s a decent human being.

3:45 PM :: 3 comments so far ::
prev :: next