some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

how long does it take goat cheese to go bad?

April 06, 2004
It will be a hard life: one without reward, without remorse, without regret. A path will be placed before you; the choice is yours alone. Do what think you cannot do. It will be a hard life but you will find out who you are.

Today the students filled out surveys about the climate in the school, which is a good thing. Too bad the Synod sent us surveys written for college students and I had to spend thirty minutes on vocabulary before I could actually proctor the survey. How are they expected to share their opinions if they cannot understand the language of the survey?

Then came the hard part, �My teacher knows who I am and respects me.� Out of seven students only one put, false and stood on his chair to make the announcement. I don�t like him because I am, �mean� to him. I asked how I was mean to him exactly. I would hate to be mistreating one of my students needlessly. The run down of his complaint was that we have to do things he doesn�t like to do (work). I don�t let him do things he enjoys doing (game boy, talking during class, etc.), I crack down on name-calling and I�m too hard on them.

I am a hard ass; I can�t deny that. So, I told them this: I don�t let them tease the one girl we have in the classroom because our classroom is supposed to be a safe environment where everyone has the right to learn. If they don�t want to learn I can�t make them but I�m not going to allow them to prevent from others from learning or feeling safe in the classroom. I�m hard on them, not because I dislike them but because I love them and if I didn�t like them I would let them do whatever they wanted however they wanted to do it. The presence of discipline is the surest sign that your parents and teachers love you and want what is indeed best for you.

Too bad most people don�t get that.

In other news I got a birthday card from my Grandmother today. The one I don�t like which is different from the one who is dying who doesn�t like me. As a rule I think there is absolutely nothing wrong with a belated birthday greeting as long as everyone is on the up and up. Admit your card is late. Spell the recipients name correctly. Don�t put things in the card that will piss them off if they aren�t on good terms with you because you�re a hateful old hag.

While I have forgiven the woman for how she�s wronged me and those I love I�ve also decided that she will not be a part of my life. Considering the things that have happened I can�t have her as a part of life. If she weren�t my Grandmother and she was a friend no one in their right mind would encourage me to be in a relationship with her. I have a friend with Downs Syndrome and she seems to understand this concept better than most adults I know, �Her is mean. Her is not my friend.� If they�re unkind to you or to the people you love, are they your friend? Of course not! What does blood relation do to change that? Nothing at all really, nothing at all.

Finally, my refrigerator is working. I�ve been telling the maintenance people for two weeks that it�s broken and it took them all of two minutes to stop drinking coffee and call the technician, he took fifteen minutes only because he spent ten minutes in his van looking for the part.

11:34 PM :: 9 comments so far ::
prev :: next