some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

y'all don't want to hear me, you just wanna dance

April 04, 2004
What I learned:use your inside voice when talking to yourself.

Yesterday at work two peculiar things happened.

Before I get into that I�ve noticed that everyone I work with over eighteen has a sob story. There dog ran away, their spouse left them; their kids are ugly and illegitimate, and/or someone in their family has met and untimely, violent death. I too need a sob story that is better than, �I was bored and instead of paying to be entertained I got a second job.� I need a tragedy to make me interesting.

The first peculiar thing that happened at my second job last night was someone ordering one hundred chicken mc nuggets. One hundred of them. Then to go with it he ordered a small fry and a diet coke. I had to make the nuggets but the girl at the counter shouted that he also needed the other two things and I made the comment, a lot louder than I had intended, �Good thing he didn�t super size that order because the fries are where you get hit hard. I hate to see people over do it.� Everyone around me started laughing. The man mentioned to the counter girl that he was watching his weight.

Watching it do what? If you�re watching your weight then fast food is NOT for you. Fast food is one letter more than �fat food.�

The other thing was that someone told me that I smelled nice. Saying, �Thank you � I bathe!� Wasn�t good enough for me; that would be too easy. She said, �what are you wearing?� meaning my cologne and I told her, �Oh, thanks! It�s nothing very special just old funk, with new deodorant on top of it, to much Abercombie �Woods� cologne and Era. What are you wearing?� Honestly, I need to learn to be polite for a full month in a new job before I start with folks. That story was funnier when it happened. I�m sorry I shared it. Oi.

1:33 PM :: 1 comments so far ::
prev :: next