some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

Miriam C. for Homecoming Queen

April 03, 2004
I have my second job; that�s the only thing I obligate myself to on Saturdays. My boss�s boss wants me to go and have lunch with him on a Saturday and I have no interest in doing so.

I have to work at the Church and School Sunday through Friday. Everyone, even the Lord, takes a day off. If he wants to have lunch with me he can come in on a hot lunch day that I have lunch duty and eat with me then.

I�m a teacher, this isn�t a business, I don�t do lunch meetings or meal meetings. I decided on being a teacher because there are things I�d sooner avoid than participate in. I don�t like eating in front of other people and I also don�t like being told what to do in my free time.

I told him I am usually obligated on Saturdays because I always find something to do in my scant free time. He said to call him when I didn�t have anything I had to do.

So, he comes into my class the other day to confront me (and this was a confrontation) about me not calling him, ever. I told him, in front of my class, �My Grandmother is dying, when I�m not working I�m in New Jersey. I haven�t not eaten lunch with you because I don�t want but because I�ve been busy with work and family. He�s ninety-five so he tells me, My wife lived three months after her stroke. You shouldn�t stop living just because someone else is dying. I couldn�t believe he said that, I would have dropped a, bitch, please on his ass but I was in front of my class.

I gave him the evil eye but I don�t think it took.

I can�t believe he�d say something like that. I haven�t �stopped living� because someone is dying but I have reprioritized my life around what I find to be important. Social lunches with people I don�t have time for isn�t on the list.

Right now he�s calling my house and knocking on my door. Whatever. I�m not the babysitter and I�m not here to entertain people. I have to work in like three hours anyway.

I still can�t believe he�d say something like that.

11:23 AM :: 3 comments so far ::
prev :: next