some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

Grammar Rocks

April 01, 2004
Today was another exceptional field trip.

Today I was reminded why I teach in private schools. I call this my first year of teaching because I really would not call what I did in Kentucky, �teaching.�

We went to the city�s symphony for special children�s concert. They do the same repertoire every year but the concert is only available to the fifth graders. It doesn�t get old for the children. My predecessor has a son in my class so she accompanied us on the concert. She�s been great this year because she�s taught my class, is a mom to three of the most popular children in our school and still teaches in the building. She�s more than helpful any time I need her help. Her kid was terrible today.

Our children aren�t your fun of the mill kids. They don�t use foul language, they don�t tease each other often and in general they�re kind to each other. They�re not all best friends but they�re humane to each other.

One of the boys in my class, the son of my predecessor, has become enamored with the idea of using foul language. We get on the bus, which is provided by the city symphony, and have to share it with a class from the public school who are shouting, carrying on and acting dangerously in every way a person can imagine. The cursing boy LOVED it.

I realized that making 2/3 less money than I did last year and I have to deal with an Ecclesiastic Bureaucracy, which is wicked frustrating compared to a civil one but there isn�t enough curiosity in Korea to get me back into public school right now.

Still, cursing boy was too much and he enjoyed the foul things written on the bus as much as the foul things being said by the kids on the bus. I realized something important. People, there is a difference between spanking and beating kids. These kids in the public school? They needed a spanking YEARS ago. I think that is the real thing that is wrong with America. We let our kids control us and we�re too liberal with them. Spare the rod and spoil the child.

Then, during the presentation my students started mocking the local news reporter who was doing the presentation because his grammar was AWFUL and I�m their teacher. Considering the dross you read here � can you imagine how bad his grammar was after they learned grammar from ME? It was a, oh shit, you had to be there.

Then on the way home one of the kids asks me, �Do you make more money than he does because you have better grammar?� They were referring to the news reporter, I told them, �Your ability to use the English Language doesn�t affect your ability to get a job and make a lot of money in life, in fact the worse your ability to command the English Language gets the further you�ll go.� The kid said, �Really?� I said, �If you don�t believe me ask the President.�

I still support the man over the gold digging Senator from Massachusetts

Important Health Information.

10:51 PM :: 7 comments so far ::
prev :: next