some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

you're lucky we don't have a teacher's lounge

March 31, 2004

Today I got two absurd things in the mail. The first thing was an email from a person I knew in college who wanted to relate some gossip to me, namely that Jon Bender was having a baby.

Anyone who has been reading this for years and years knows that Jon Bender was my roommate in college and I don�t like him at all. It all boils down to my general inability to enjoy the company of people more sanctimonious and pompous than I am. That having been said I have made it my resolution since moving to Connecticut to rid myself of toxic friends, not be a toxic friend and avoid gossiping about people I could care less about.

Besides, he�s a BOY. Boys can�t have babies. I can�t believe I know people that stupid to believe that a man is having a baby.

I was annoyed to no end by this email because it was presenting me with gossip about someone I�d rather forget and this person never talks about her life asks others how they�re doing. An email from her is riddled with gossip and a probable chance of racism ending about early evening when they leave �work� and go home. While I consider this person a friend I�m quiet tired of her. A lovely interesting person but a vicious gossip none the less and I�d rather avoid that. This is the unkind response to her gossip:

In case anyone missed the point, I don't talk to people from Concordia because all you do is gossip about people I either don't know or don't care about. If I gave a flying fuck about the people we went to college with I'd talk to them myself. I don't care. I don't talk to them. I could care less. Please stop filling me on the inane minutia of people I would rather never hear from again.

I know my life is boring but it hasn�t reached the point where I need to hear about others to fill my day, if you�re that bored get a second job.

Then I wonder, what the hell are you telling people about me? I too was bored once; I got a second job. Now, I�m not bored. I also suggest buying a new CD, renting a DVD or making friends. That could help you out if you�re averse to working.

If you ever wonder why no one hears from me or hear people asking that same question, this exactly the fuck why I don't talk to you.

The other absurd thing I got in the mail was a solicitation for my class to be pen pals with another class in California. We received a letter from a child in the class and the teacher.

Before I let anything go home with my name on it I always spell and grammar check it. I always have another teacher and the secretary read it over. The teacher�s letter was an assault on the English Language, I was embarrassed for her but the student�s letter was an atrocity that earned him the instant reputation as an �imbecile� by my class, imbecile is Charlie�s favorite insult that he�s allowed to use at school. He saves it for special occasions like this.

My students are sticklers for grammar, handwriting, spelling and general usage of the English Language. This letter was so offensive that we can�t write back. They�d be too cruel. They took it out to where their parents pick them up to show them the letter. It was really bad but the kid seemed really nice. He�s probably good at something they are not but it isn�t the English Language.

I�m surprised we even got the letter because of all the errors on the envelope.

However, when my student�s letters leave the school I am making for damn sure that they have no errors in spelling, grammar or usage. I will also make sure they have exceptional handwriting. I will not be the laughing stock of someone else�s teacher�s lounge (and this woman is lucky we don�t have one here).

Good Night All!

12:08 AM :: 1 comments so far ::
prev :: next