some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

Just like the prodigal son, I�ve returned

March 28, 2004
My parents� visit was long and short all at the same time. Mom came with a mission to improve the apartment and make it a place that looked like someone lived here. Now it does, shortly Diary Land Cribs will be updated to reflect my current circumstances. I know, the Connecticut residents reading this are thinking, �You still live in New Britain, how good could it be?�

Yesterday we went to Boston. I got directions from Yahoo. I got directions from Yahoo because I am an idiot but I�m not just any old idiot, I�m a Stewart. We take idiocy to whole new levels. Now, because everyone knows that if you bring a map with you on a trip and especially when you�re using Yahoo directions we left our atlas in my car. Why take the map with us?

If you�re Boston and you like the condition of the roads, thank me. We have to turn around to right ourselves so many times muddling through Boston�s traffic network that we must have paid a million dollars in tolls. E Z Pass? Yeah, we know about E Z Pass. We left that with the atlas. Come on now, if we weren�t smart enough to bring the map why would we think to bring the E Z Pass?

For the uninitiated the E Z Pass lets us zoom through tollbooths and then deducts the tool from a credit card.

We finally found our way into downtown Boston, which I know isn�t very big but we were still lost. I asked a Russian cab driver how to go get to where we wanted to be. Thank God for the Russians.

We had a fun time in Boston. We did the Freedom Trail and ate at the Union Oyster House, which is apparently the oldest restaurant in America. We learned a lot and everyone should see this, it�s not that expensive when you have to pay but most parts of the trail are free. I enjoyed it every time I�ve gone � this being the second time. I get to go again because family that was supposed to come but couldn�t make it.

This weekend�s trip brought home the point that I should get married because if there was an adult around I might be prevented from acting the way I do. Who wants that? I�d be boring like so many people I went to college with. Married people are tiresome.

1:15 PM :: 6 comments so far ::
prev :: next