some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

Sante Fe is the capital of New Mexico, not Albequr- I can't spell it

March 22, 2004
People with ADHD should not bake. I should not bake with my iPod on. In general, I should not be in the kitchen. Soon, very soon, people will start to die. I�m going to get distracted and burn down the church or leave something on the stove to answer the phone, wander out of the kitchen and that will catch on fire.

I forget to put things in. I put extra things in. This time I baked cookies and they didn�t come out right, I had forgotten the salt and the baking soda. They�re right nasty. I wouldn�t eat them or even pass them off on other people. Normally I�m not this stupid but last night I did that. Normally I catch it before it�s too late. My process is to take everything I need out of the cabinet and line it up and then check it off the list as I use it. I forgot this step last night. Tragedy.

I forget that I put things in and by things I may have meant, �What I�m baking� and by, �in� I may have meant, �in the oven.� I also forget to set the timer. Who needs it? The smoke alarm is nature�s oven timer.

Can you imagine what I�d be like medicated? If I took the cocktail of medications it would take to balance my brain chemistry I would be broke from the co-pays, banal as a United States Senator and have enough chemicals in me to be considered filthier than the fresh water supply in the state of New Jersey. I would be pickled, preserved forever like a living Lenin. Russians would line up for miles and stand hours just to look at me and Kipp would charge admission.

I don�t want to be one of those diaries that complains, �Oh, I have the lupus and I can�t function in life, click my banner!� I�m not complaining about what�s wrong with me. If Shakespeare were writing the story of my life it would be categorized as a comedy, not a tragedy. The last thing I want is pity.

Or a house fire.

11:21 AM :: 4 comments so far ::
prev :: next