some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

the passion of the christ

March 21, 2004
Today I went with my friend who teaches Kindergarten to �The Passion of the Christ.� It was a very moving experience. It was graphic but, I read the book, the book is a lot more graphic than the movie was. In our liturgy we refer weekly to the �innocent and bitter suffering� and the movie brought that point home for me.

I�ve read the Passion and read it again. There is something that is moving about seeing the suffering happen.

That wasn�t what moved me though. What moved me was the interaction of the Christ with the people around him and their reaction to the events. I liked how the director moved from the events to an applicable flashback to the Ministry of Jesus and to a person in his life. Goofing around with his mother, the Sermon on the Mount, the Last Supper or rescuing the adulterous woman from the religious leaders (which isn�t even implied as being Mary Magdalene in the Bible, that was Pope Gregory the Great). I believe in Jesus and his message because of all the things that he accomplished on Earth, not only because he died for me.

I think the sadest part of the movie was when Jesus was betrayed by Peter...that had to be the hardest part of all but then I remember that the difference between Judas and Peter is that while they both betrayed Jesus only one of them could accept his forgiveness.

I feel compelled to go forward from this moment and live life as a better person.

In other news the boy at the concession stand who sold me my snack (which I didn�t finish despite it�s high price) was named Jesus, just as my students told me he would be and it took ALL of my self control not to tell him, �We�re going to see your movie.� I�m sure someone else had said that to him already anyway. Don�t look at me like that, the Kindergarten teacher wanted to say that too.

And what was with Satan�s midget? Midgets are added for COMEDY, this was a serious film. I don�t know what was going on.

5:12 PM :: 1 comments so far ::
prev :: next