some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

kennedy family circus

March 21, 2004
There would be a lot less child abuse if people were taught how to parent. This is especially true of handicapped children. I know there are politically correct terms for the handicapped but I�m not here to spare people�s feelings. Parents are ill equipped to deal to with the rigors of raising a child who has special needs. They don�t know how to do it; of course they get it wrong. Of course they do things they ought not do. I don�t know how to fix a car so if I get under the hood of my car and start tinkering it will be broken when I�m done.

I�m a special education teacher, I wouldn�t presume to know how to handle a handicapped child in their home setting and while I�m sure I could do a better job that most people solely because of my training I would never fault a parent for getting it wrong.

This I was amused by the �Today Show� when Rory Kennedy was being interviewed about a documentary she made that started out as covering the life of a handicapped boy who was slighted by welfare reform and it evolved into the story of how this boy was being abused. She sat there, smug and liberal, spouting her wisdom on this and that, how horrible it was that this child was treated the way he was and true to Kennedy form didn�t have a solution to the problem.

People aren�t taught how to parent before they�re allowed to make babies and even if they were how many do you think would perk up in the, �how to take care of your child if it�s exceptional� lecture? None of expects this and none of us are well equipped to raise �normal� or �baseline� children so of course we�re fish out of water with the ones who need more care than the rest.

I also felt like she had exploited these people to make a point and that�s just wrong. Sure, welfare reform isn�t perfect but it�s better than the system it replaced. Does she have a feasible alternative? No, she really didn�t.

Just like Jonathan Kozal and the brigade of liberal martyrs around him we have yet another person who doesn�t know what they�re talking about and doesn�t have a reasonable alternative the system they oppose or a solution to the problem they see before them.

I�m all about bitching and moaning about problems but I also have a solution to every problem I think is worth my worrying about.


I have been in the Senate for a half century and I have nothing to really show for it. I will not show leadership. I will not move in a positive, progressive or forward direction. I will merely bitch and moan while others try and do something about the problems that riddle the American Republic.

Please go vote for Suburban Island on the Diary Land 100, I�d hate to see Leslie Irene win.

Luis found something great. Click the link.

Visit Mary and Kipp too. Now.

10:21 AM :: 0 comments so far ::
prev :: next