some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

you own the place where all my thoughts go hiding

March 20, 2004

I love Law and Order shows, you could make Law and Order � Parking Meter Unit and I�d be glued to the TV. Dick Wolf is a �freaking� genius. I would buy the lunch box, the toilet paper, the action figures � I would buy it all.

That�s not what I wanted to share with you.

Today I went to Old Navy because I have a coupon for Old Navy. I didn�t use the coupon and it will expire because through no fault of mine Old Navy only sells crap.

My parents didn�t have money when I was in Middle School for school clothes, in High School my father got a promotion and the raise that goes with it and then they did. Dad had nothing growing up so in High School he couldn�t spend enough on us. However, I�m aware of the experience in Middle School of having to wear clothes that weren�t cool.

Today in Old Navy there was a kid crying, like a small child, because of what his parents were picking out for him. I wanted to stop laughing and tell him, �Butch up.� Old Navy isn�t cool, it isn�t what I�d want and if I didn�t have a coupon I wouldn�t have been there but he could have been at a Wal Mart, he could have been at a Thrift Store, he could have been in Drew�s old clothing. Shut up Erin, I know Drew�s old clothing is always a better place to be than other people�s new ones �it�s the principle of it. Crying? Really.

I like how American, Canadian and Western European kids whine about how hard they have life, how repressed they are and how abused their lives are. They have no clue how hard life could be and my basis for comparison is Eastern European Communism (I�m old enough to have been there when that was happening) and what missionaries returning from Africa have told me. Life here is easy (that�s why people hate us).

Anyway, nothing makes me laugh like a crying jock. I�m a crass, compassion free person but I�ve walked a mile in his shoes and I don�t remember crying about it. Yeah, it was more like five miles up a mountain in deep snow.

11:19 PM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next