some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

cleaning the fridge

March 17, 2004
Today after school I cleaned my fridge. I threw out old left over food, washed the shelves and bins and took an inventory of what I have on my fridge.

I had forgotten that I had put a head of lettuce in the vegetable crisper. I don�t put things in there because I forget them there. The head of lettuce had turned into a pile of leaves and black liquid in the time it had been there. I know it has been there since before Christmas but I don�t know how long it was.

This is what led me to actually take everything out of the fridge and clean it. I learn more each day about how much my mother did around the house, how inept I am and how much I have yet to do. This house won�t get clean before my parents get here.

At least they�ll have something to do if the apartment is not perfectly clean.

Cleaning the fridge was insane. Now I only have a couple things in my fridge:

romaine lettuce
fat free Italian salad dressing
catsup
beer
milk
orange juice
eggs
a slice of bacon
a stick of butter
two English muffins

I will not starve. I think there is something in the freezer but after cleaning the fridge I�m afraid to look.

10:34 PM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next