some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

in my whole life

March 12, 2004
I�ve been living so long with these pictures of you that I almost believe that they�re real

I�m going to be away at a teacher�s conference. I hope it�s useful but I doubt it.

Two of my worst fears have come to fruition today, namely nausea and diarrhea in the classroom. Nothing happened but my body could have gone at any moment. It was a tense school day. No one wants that action going on at any job, but where you�re anchored to a classroom without a toilet?

I still have a small fever so I was sitting on the bench that spans the back of my classroom by the window. It�s nice and cool there by the window. While I�m sitting there I notice that out in the parking lot someone is breaking into one of the Preschool teacher�s cars. My classroom is right above preschool so I sent my fastest kid with the biggest mouth downstairs to tell her what�s going on.

The perpetrator eventually got away because my student took his time explaining things. I had told him to quietly tell the teacher so he didn�t disturb the little children and frighten them. Apparently he put out a command performance so he would frighten the little kids who were screaming bloody murder, causing me to leave my class with someone else and go downstairs to see what had happened. If the preschool teacher ever kills me she has a great cause to.

I don�t know who that preschool teacher thinks she is. I�m the teacher whose car gets broken into. I�m the person who talks to the rude police officers when things go down. She is stealing my thunder.

Today at recess the two boys in Kindergarten got into an argument and the one told the other, �You�re the worst friend I�ve had in my whole life.� I love the dramatic flair that five-year-olds put into everything from arguments to macaroni and cheese. How many friends could a five-year-old possibly have in his short life and why am I worrying about it.

Well, I�m off to that teacher�s conference. See you on Saturday but probably Sunday.

2:53 PM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next