some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

children are the future, today belongs to me

March 09, 2004
Snow used to be exciting. Snow used to fill my heart with glee. Now I see it and become annoyed. School being delayed or cancelled, work schedules scrunched up and moved around. I�ll just worry about people traveling in it.

Before I left the University my academic advisor told me, as a joke, to use my powers for good. For the first time since I�ve had powers I�ve done that. It wasn�t my intention to exert any influence on my siblings or cousins but I�ve inspired them to visit our grandmother.

I may be on the roster of the Church and recognized by the Internal Revenue Service as a member of the Synod and the clergy but Meredith is the moral authority of the family.

You�ve heard of the Americorps, I�ve been drafted into the militant wing of the Americorps � the Mere-i-corps. This Sunday, for a limited time engagement, I will be helping my cousin Meredith clean Grandma�s house.

Her mother and my mother find it absurd that someone who hasn�t seen Grandma in a decade is forming a chain gang to perform manual labor that we can�t be called up on to do for our own mothers in our own homes.

When pressed by my mother and hers (who is my Godmother) as to why I acquiesced to do such a thing I replied that Meredith�s powers of persuasion are remarkable. I added the caveat that her ability to wield guilt as a weapon gives me hope that my cousin Meredith will return to the Catholic Church because surely the scripture teaches us that �raise up a child in the way that it should go and it will not depart from it.� We can run but we can�t hide. She�s coming home but she�s taking the long road. You may get side tracked on this road, I�m in the chain gang that you�re more than likely to pass.

You have to go to college a damn long time before you can run a hospital but that doesn't explain why so many people who run them are mongoloids. Which is a terrible thing to say, I have a friends with Downs Syndrome who would at least try to do a good job running a hospital. I don't think these bastards could give a shit with an enema. When I called the hospital today to raise hell about how Grandma is being treated I mentioned this and that and let the word, "retarded" slip out and the person told me that it wasn't kind to use that word and I said, "Listen, I'm a special education teacher - I know retarded when I see it. Change her sheets, put her in clean clothes" I hope for their sake they have because even I don't roll with Meredith. Meredith is going tomorrow and like all women in my family she doesn't just roll, she rolls hard.

On a lighter note today I have to thank whoever told me to remember to hold back a girl�s hair when they get sick because a Kindergartener threw up today in the office and some got on me, I was helping her not get it all over the place. Now I have whatever bacteria which has ravaged Kindergarten this week.

I had better not get what that kid had.

12:30 AM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next