some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

field trip

March 05, 2004
I have a kid in my class who is a total goof. He is incurably clumsy and silly. He has a lot less self-control than I do and a considerably less self-control than I am used to when teaching in a private school. Today on our field trip he accidentally ripped the zipper off of his jacket and was trapped in his over-sized down coat.

Luckily, I had pliers with me. Having the pliers was a shock to everyone including myself. My backpack is like Batman�s belt � it� has all this cool and useful stuff in it so I�m useful in a tough spot like this. I also should not have wire cutters with me when I�m at a school thing. My backpack is more like Mary Poppins� carpetbag but I would rather be like Batman. Batman is the man. I don�t care if Mary Poppins can fly.

So, we went to a play for a field trip today. It was so god-awful boring that I wanted to leave and my class wouldn�t have minded at all. We shared the bus with the rest of the school so we were stuck there.

There have been field trips that I thought would be interesting and I had fun but the kids didn�t enjoy it. On the converse there have been field trips that the kids loved that I hated with passion I hope to someday use to love a woman. This was a time when we all agreed that it was terrible.

When I woke up toward the end of the play I had a fifth grade leaning on me, drooling and asleep. I looked at the ones sitting the in the row ahead of me. One of them was reading the Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin by book light, two others had linked their Nintendo game boys � locked in mortal Pokemon Combat and two others were asleep.

A good teacher would have stopped them but I figured, what the hell � no one was bugging me about it and they weren�t bothering anyone so I let it drop. It wasn�t like the public school kids throwing things. I don�t care, they perform in the classroom and that is what matters to my boss and their parents.

I was so glad to leave. There was a question/answer thing we could have stayed for but I left. My kids wouldn�t have had questions � they didn�t pay attention.

My best friend just called, I thought he had forgotten it was my birthday today but that�s okay � I wouldn�t have thought of it if my mother hadn�t called me an hour before about it. I also forget his birthday. His birthday is the same day my uncle died and therefore I remember that it was in October but not much else.

4:47 PM :: 3 comments so far ::
prev :: next