some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

clowned by munchkins

March 03, 2004

I got up on the wrong side of the bed today, literally. Normally I roll out of bed on the left side because it�s closer to the accursed alarm clock. Today, for reasons unknown I rolled out of bed on the right side of the bed and in my dash to silence the alarm clock I cut my foot to shreds when it grazed the bed framed.

I really just scratched up my foot but it hurts more if I had just amputated the whole thing off. I spent the better part of my morning cursing my luck. It�s a fluke that I even had band-aids to put on my foot at all. I don�t remember buying band-aids so they must be something that Emily jettisoned in my apartment before moving. Speaking of that, I have a ton of her stuff that she actually wants that I need to mail back to her in Colorado.

When you live on your own you never fill the garbage as fast as it starts to smell bad. I�ve taken to flushing food that�s going to be thrown out down the toilet. Never flush a whole orange, it doesn�t work well. It causes a bigger mess than you�d ever want to clean.

That was my morning.

I got a fake �high five� from a three year old as his class passed mine in the hallway. He did a little �I got you!� victory dance, it was cute even if it was embarrassing. This is my fault, I'm the king of the tricks on the kids. I get this one boy in my class with "what's on your shirt," EVERY DAY. Getting clowned by a munchkin was my just deserts.

My students were good in chapel and tame in class. Tomorrow I�m going to get slammed. I can feel it.

8:20 PM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next