some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

I�m getting everything I dished out as a kid back in spades (whatever that means)

March 01, 2004
This morning I had bus duty. I have bus duty every Monday morning and this morning while I�m watching the children (who we corral into the gym bleachers during the winter) and the Kindergarten twins today had a book they wanted read to them.

I said I would read it because how hard could it be and how long could it take? They had the most complicated twenty pages about dinosaurs I have read. There is no phoneticallyspelledasaurus but there are quite a few howthehelldoIpronouncethisasauruses out there to choose from and one or two whatthefuckasauruses.

I sometimes trip on my words when I�m reading aloud and it�s annoying to be corrected by a fifth grader but it is really, very embarrassing to catch that hell from a KINDERGARTENER, who nonetheless enjoyed me reading the book that took about half an hour out of my day. I kid you not, it takes about a minute per page, with time added for questions and corrections from a child who I could have parented.

This was the way to start your day and your week � humbled and put in your place by a five-year-old. �SHUT UP! I CAN TIE MY OWN SHOES!� Didn�t fly out of my mouth, but it would have been really funny if it had.

I also can�t use that argument as I do not wear tie shoes and the last time I said that to someone they pointed that we�d never know if I could or not.

In my class we�re having a chess tournament, which I am participating in at their request. I hate being beaten and I can�t win this tournament, it isn�t right. Hopefully I�ll be beaten by the student and not have to defer to propriety in this instance.

I�m getting everything I dished out as a kid back in spades (whatever that means)

7:02 PM :: 1 comments so far ::
prev :: next