some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

Please file this under: Men are stupid, do not leave unattended.

February 29, 2004
Well, I just tried to burn down my apartment.

It all started on Friday evening when Jen and I went to the Mall. I needed something from Aveda and while I was there I got a refill for one of the glass candleholders I have from there. It smells nice.

I got home and realized there was still about one-sixth of the old candle left but no wick. I consulted my friend who works at Yankee Candle and they said to put it on the store on low heat for a little while, the wax will melt and fill my house with the aroma. Watch the candle; don�t turn the heat up too high. So, late Friday night I tried this and it worked well. My house smelled like the tiny candle, subtle but ubiquitous.

So this morning while talking to Jen on the Internet I put the candle back on the stove. I walked away and that�s when the disaster happened. I went to the bathroom and when I came back the phone rang, more gay marriage surveys for golfwidow and then when I got off the phone I noticed that my kitchen had filled with smoke.

I have no idea how long I was on the phone but it certainly was too long. I turned on my inept fan over the stove, and then the vent fans in the bathroom and laundry room, found my fans in of storage and opened up the windows. Then it occurred to me to shut the stove off and thus cut down the stream of smoke coming out of the glass candleholder. Then I moved the class candleholder off of the stove, into the sink and turned the cold water. This made my sink a delightful waxy mess.

I bet those fumes are going to kill me.

I�m really mad that my smoke detector didn�t go off. What if I had fallen asleep? I still wouldn�t have woken up but it�s the thought that counts, right? Right.

This is the second time this weekend that Aveda has tried to kill me. First there was the acne medicine incident and now this. Aveda wants me dead. I smell a rat.

My apartment is now filled with a ubiquitous (but definitely not subtle) fragrance that is making me sick. Perhaps I should take a walk.

Please file this under: Men are stupid, do not leave unattended.

12:19 PM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next