some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

opinion on marriage

February 25, 2004
Golf Widow made an excellent point in the gay marriage discussion that no one asked her what her opinion and if anyone had been polled. I get polled, a lot; about a great many things. If you think my voice on the Internet is tireless and annoying my political activism outside this arena would drive you nuts.

I have been polled and this is what I tell them (every of the several times): Marriage is the business of the Church (as it is sacred), the Government has no business in marriage straight, gay or indifferent. Being the dissolution of marriage is more common that it�s success I had to support the government�s role as arbiter those unfortunate events so I concurrently support civil unions for everyone while leaving the sacredness of an institution to the institutions that are indeed sacred, the house of worship of your choice.

I don�t think discrimination should be canonized in our Constitution but at the same time I don�t think the Government should be involved in our lives at that level.

As for our President�s opinion on marriage and the myriad of �I�m voting for Kerry now!� comments I�ve read: I�m shocked by the pedestrian logic used in that equation. �Bush is against so Kerry is for it,� is false. While Kerry doesn�t support the Marriage Amendment he also doesn�t support marriages for gays. Kerry supports civil unions and if you�re going to accept that from the state while others get to marry I�m disappointed in you. Civil unions are marriages in everything but name, so why not call it what it is?

Besides, many of you weren�t voting for Bush anyway and if you�re surprised Bush did this than you should have been paying better attention.

There are few things Lutherans are as adamant about as the separation of church and state. The civil arena is the business of the state and we support the state�s right to do that. Sacred things are the business of religion, I don�t care where you do or do not worship.

Bush made an astute political move, he�s gathering his base around him and contrasting himself with the Democrats who for all their rolling thunder about civil rights in their rhetoric and what they say the believe in fail time and again to do something about it when given a chance to in the area of policy debate or action.

Do I think this amendment will pass? No.

The government should arbitrate the contract between the people wanting to get married and the state, the Church (or religious authority of your choice) should arbitrate the contract between the marrying parties and God.

7:59 AM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next