some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

in context

February 25, 2004
The boys in my class have learned a new word, �ho.� They know one thing about the word, �ho.� They know it�s obscene and offensive but they don�t know why or how. They don�t know the definition and they don�t know the proper context in which to use this word.

They�re using it a lot. I�ve gotten it out of my classroom and it�s rare I hear it at school but apparently it�s still being said at home. No one will tell them what it means. It�s something I passed on to the parents (it�s sexual in nature and therefore their court of responsibility) and so I am not defining it for the boys.

The boys will keep saying it until someone somewhere corrects them and tells them what it means. During the interim we�re hearing it in all parts of speech. People have been told to ho themselves. Ho me a river. She�s a ho. I�ll take this ho and beat you. That�s a very ho shirt.

Boys are wonderful, clever little monsters.

12:10 AM :: 0 comments so far ::
prev :: next